Just when I thought

Bam! My cousin opened the door. And it’s 6:25 in the morning. “Ken, ken! wake up already mommy pamping is waiting for you downstairs”.
And I was like, “What, what time is it?”.
“It’s past 5 am” He replied.
“No shit, f*** why do I have to get up this early for church?” I grumbled in panic, for I know how bad it is to be scolded by my grandmother, grabbed my used pair of jeans and voila! All set, ready for an early morning walk to church.

     In a flash I remembered that my girlfriend was leaving our hometown, for Manila. (It pains me to think, that I didn’t have the chance of seeing her, because I’m stuck here, in Cebu) So, I took my phone on the table, and saw her message.

“Kev mata na :<” (Kev wake up)

    She wants me to send her off virtually, which is really cute and realistic too me 🙂 and I really have to, because I would want to say “Okay, dear have a safe flight!”

     Downstairs my grandma is calling me. So I rushed downstairs feeling lightheaded and uneasy, I took my pair of shoes and got out of the house with my grandma. While walking through the Daniel ~ Andrea Quijada Compound, I was texting I greeted my girlfriend good morning, and gave her the superawesomekenny virtual comfort (because she felt sad leaving Iligan City). I took my grandma’s hand while walking down the street.

     Today is my grandfather’s death anniversary. (This is why I have to go to mass at 6:00 am)

     While holding my grandmother’s hand, I couldn’t help but think how great the relationship my grandpa and grandma had. from high school lovers, to being a testament of how strong destiny is when you chose and believed in it. They had their fair share of the trials but they still stood strong. That’s why I really idolized my grandparents. I held my grandma’s hand knowing this is where my grandpa used to hold her. I remembered my father’s story about how my grandparents fought their cheesy love story, through letters and courage.

     Even in this present generation of new technology, fast internet messaging, email, texting, and etc. I find myself drawn to sending love letters to my girlfriend, because for me there’s this feeling of thrill, the feeling of paranoia of thinking that the letter couldn’t be sent because of technicalities, and there’s the the feeling of contentment knowing that she have received, read, and kept the letter. Maybe all of this corny-slash-cheesy version of me is handed down from my grandfather, well I salute you Daddy Titing!

     6:50 am the church bell rang. I was worried if I could send her off. Halfway through the mass, I checked my watch every time my mind wander, looking through stained glass windows of the church.

     Suddenly I heard His voice saying. “Trust me and just focus on me.” I started to question my faithfulness, couldn’t I just keep watch for the Lord for an hour?!

“This is a place of worship, not for time keeping. Everything happens in God’s time in this way I should trust the Lord, and just focus on the mass, listen to His words.” So I placed my self at ease, I focused on the ceremony knowing that after the end of the mass, I am blessed. (and He’ll give me time to send her angel off 😉 )

     Just when I thought that waking up that early is a bad thing, but it turned out to be a solemn, sweet, nostalgic feeling. Everything is connected, and it happens in God’s time.

 

Leave a comment